This article provides information about certificate changes for ClarkWiFi and Eduroam that may force some clients to face additional prompts or require them to forget/rejoin the network.
It is that time again when we must swap out our old WiFi certificate for a new one. This certificate is what keeps your data private on the ClarkWiFi and eduroam networks.
- Some devices will simply continue to work without user intervention.
- Some devices may pop up a window asking whether to trust the new certificate. It is OK to trust this new certificate but ITS advises users never to trust these popups unless ITS has announced a certificate change.
This year's certificate renewal may require more users to "Forget" and re-join WiFi networks than usual.
Older or unusual equipment are more likely chance of running into issues connecting. ITS asks those responsible for any WiFi equipment, such as lab equipment, to please check up on that equipment to ensure it remains connected and contact the Help Desk if the connection cannot be fixed by forgetting and rejoining the network.
Special note for Android users
If you need to forget and reconnect your Android device, you may see an option called Trust On First Use. Choose this option. Samsung and a few other Android devices will still show the old Use System Certificates option. To make sure your WiFi is secure, please choose this option and enter the following for a server name: radius.it.clarku.edu
Special notes for Apple owners
On Apple devices, popups may require your administrator password.
Reminder
If you have both ClarkWiFi and eduroam networks configured, your WiFi experience will be better if only one of them is set to Automatically connect.